The North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission


Upcoming events:

NAMMCO/JCNB Joint Scientific Working Group


The NAMMCO Agreement was signed in Nuuk, Greenland, on 9 April 1992 by the current members of the Commission — the Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland, and Norway. It entered into force 90 days later on 8 July 1992.

The agreement focuses on modern approaches to the study of the marine ecosystem as a whole, and to understanding better the role of marine mammals in this system.

NAMMCO area of competence is the North Atlantic Ocean, without any limits or further description set by the agreement.