The North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission


Upcoming events:


Seals and Walrus (Pinnipeds)

Seven pinniped (seal) species are permanent residents in the NAMMCO management area. Detailed information can be found about the Atlantic Walrus and the Ringed Seal on the following pages.

Ice Seals

Walrus Ny

Atlantic Walrus (Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus)

Roysningur (Faroese), Aaveq (Greenlandic), Rostungur (Icelandic), Hvalross (Norwegian)


Arctic Ringed Seal (Phoca hispida hispida)

Ringkópur (Faroese), Natseq (Greenlandic), Hringanórir (Icelandic), Ringsel (Norwegian)

bearded seal

Bearded seal (Erignathus barbarus)

Granarkópur (Faroese), Ussuk (Greenlandic), Kampselur (Icelandic), Blåsel (Norwegian)

Harp seal

Harp Seal (Phoca groenlandica)

Grønlandskópur (Faroese), Aataaq (Greenlandic), Vôðuselur (Icelandic), Grønlandsel (Norwegian)

Hooded seal

Hooded seal (Cystophora cristata)

Klappus (Faroese), Natsersuaq (Greenlandic), Blôðuselur (Icelandic), Klappmyss (Norwegian)


Coastal Seals

Grey seal

Grey Seal (Halichoerus grypus)

Láturkópur (Faroese), Sigguttooq (Greenlandic),Útselur (Icelandic), Gråsel (Norwegian)

harbour seal

Harbour Seal (Phoca vitulina)

Steinkópur (Faroese), Qasigiaq (Greenlandic), Landselur (Icelandic), Steinkobbe (Norwegian)