The Council is responsible for supervising and coordinating the organisational, administrative, financial and other affairs of the Commission, as well as its external relations.

Rules of Procedure govern its functions. The Council meets annually and reviews and acts upon advice requested from its subsidiary bodies. The reports from the meetings can be found here and also in the Annual Reports.

The Council is composed of government representatives from member country. Each member country appoints a Councillor as its main representative that is assissted by experts and advisers.

The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected for two years and are eligible for re-election, but cannot serve for more than four successive years. They shall not represent the same Contracting Party.

In 2021 – 2023 Norway holds the chair of Council and Iceland the Vice-chair.

Current Councillors are:

Páll Nolsøe (FO), Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Páll Nolsøe (FO), Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Amalie Jessen (GL), Ministry of Fisheries and Hunting
Ásta Einarsdottir (IS), Ministry of Industries and Innovation
Ole-David Stenseth (NO), Ministry of Trade, Industry and Fisheries

Start typing and press Enter to search